Eat Drink Design Awards shortlist announced

28 August, 2018 by
Annabelle Cloros

The shortlist for the 2018 Eat Drink Design Awards has been revealed, with 90 projects acknowledged for their contribution to the hospitality industry.

The shortlisted projects represent the most sought-after restaurants, bars, cafés, nightclubs, food stores and temporary hospitality spaces that opened to the public in the past two years.


Categories include best bar design, best restaurant design, best café design and best installation design, to name a few.

A venue will also be inducted into the Eat Drink Design Awards Hall of Fame, which acknowledges enduring excellence.


The competition will be judged by Simon Kardachi (Osteria Oggi, Shobosho, Press Food & Wine, The Pot by Emma McCaskell), George Livissianis (founder of George Livissianis), Fabio Ongarato (of Fabio Ongarato Design), Dani Valent (food writer and cook) and jury chairperson Cassie Hansen (Artichoke).

Shortlist below.


Best Bar Design

Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay – Tom Mark Henry (Rushcutters Bay, NSW)

Barangaroo House – Collins and Turner, H&E Architects, Etic (Barangaroo, NSW)

Shoal Bay Country Club – Luchetti Krelle (Shoal Bay, NSW)

East Village Hotel – Alexander & Co. (Darlinghurst, NSW)

All Hands Brewing House – Maddison Architects (Sydney NSW)

Imperial Hotel – Alexander & Co. (Erskineville, NSW)

Palace Central Cinemas – DesignOffice (Chippendale, NSW)

The Fernery Mosman – Pony Design Co. (Mosman, NSW)

Chandon Australia – Foolscap Studio (Coldstream, VIC)

Above Board – Chris James Studio (Collingwood, VIC)

Bouzy Bar À Vin – Jason M Jones & Brahman Perera (Armadale, VIC)

Kicks – ZWEI Interiors Architecture (Melbourne, VIC)

Baroq House – Hachem (Melbourne, VIC)

Biggie Smalls Windsor – Technē Architecture + Interior Design (Windsor, VIC)

Pentolina – Biasol (Melbourne, VIC)

Malt & Juniper – Sans-Arc Studio (Adelaide, SA)

Anchovy Bandit – Sans-Arc Studio (Prospect, SA)

Port Office Hotel – Nick Tyson Architecture (Brisbane, QLD)

Market Grounds – Woods Bagot (Perth, WA)


Best Café Design

Percy Plunkett – Matt Woods Design (Penrith, NSW)

Matinee Coffee – Luchetti Krelle (Marrickville, NSW)

Toby’s Estate Darling Square – Studio Tate (Sydney, NSW)

Indigo – Tom Mark Henry (Double Bay, NSW)

Edition Roasters – Amber Road (Haymarket, NSW)

The Post Office – Andrew & Brielle Economos (Moss Vale, NSW)

Lenny 3206 – Golden (Albert Park, VIC)

Against The Grind – Joanne Motee (Mill Park, VIC)

Cafe Godot – Aktis (Melbourne, VIC)

Cocobei – DKO (Docklands, VIC)

Bentwood Café – Ritz & Ghougassian (Fitzroy, VIC)

Sensory Lab – Studio Esteta (Melbourne, VIC)

Hungry Fox Café – LUKAS Partners Interior Architecture & Design (Essendon Fields, VIC)

Project 281 – Splinter Society Architecture (Brunswick, VIC)

Brunetti Flinders Lane – Technē Architecture + Interior Design (Melbourne, VIC)

Willow Urban Retreat – Meme (Armadale, VIC)

Sibling Spice – Studio Y. (Melbourne, VIC)

Lightyears – ZWEI Interiors Architecture (Hawthorn East, VIC)

Plain Sailing – Fiona Drago Architect (Elwood, VIC)

Lights in the Attic – Architects EAT (Hawthorn, VIC)

Pierrick Boyer Cafe Patisserie – ZWEI Interiors Architecture (Prahran, VIC)

Junction Eatery – Material Creative (Auckland, NZ)

Bermuda – Collectivus (Joondalup, WA)


Best Restaurant Design

Blanca Bar & Dining – Kaintoch Design Studio (Bondi Beach, NSW)

Social at Verandah – Luchetti Krelle (Sydney, NSW)

MARTA – DesignOffice (Rushcutters Bay, NSW)

Park House Food Merchants – Alexander & Co. (Mona Vale, NSW)

Barangaroo House – Collins and Turner, H&E Architects, Etic (Barangaroo, NSW)

Fonda Bondi – Studio Esteta (Bondi, NSW)

The Kitchen and The Patio at SBCC – Luchetti Krelle (Shaol Bay, NSW)

Wagaya – Span Design (Lidcombe, NSW)

Ishizuka – Russell & George (Melbourne, VIC)

Angus and Bon – Bergman & Co. (Prahran VIC)

Restaurant Navi – Finnis Architects (Melbourne, VIC)

Mr Carpano Dining + Bar – Interior design: Fender Katsalidis, Architecture: Woods Bagot and NH Architecture (South Wharf, VIC)

Bar Carolina – Chris Connell Design (South Yarra, VIC)

Sunda Bar & Restaurant – Kerstin Thompson Architects, Figureground

Architecture (Melbourne, VIC)

Easeys – ITN Architects (Collingwood, VIC)

Longsong – Jackson Clements Burrows with John van Haandel (Melbourne, VIC)

Congress – DesignOffice (Collingwood, VIC)

1830 Restaurant, Port Arthur Visitor Centre – JAWS Interiors, Rosevear Stephenson (Port Arthur, TAS)

Tantalus Estate – Cheshire Architects (Waiheke Island, NZ)

Image credit: Tatjana Plitt