The 2018 World AeroPress champion has been announced, with USA taking out top honours.

The competition was hosted by Single O at Commune in Sydney and featured participants from 56 countries who battled it out in a series of coffee brewing rounds.

Participants were given just four hours to prepare using the secret coffee  which was Mugaya AA, Kenya.

China, Belarus and USA all made it to the final round before Californian barista Carolina Ibarra Garay was awarded the gold trophy.

Xiaobo Zhang from China received silver and Evgeni Pinchukov from Belarus awarded Bronze.

More than 700 people attended the event which featured food from Rising Sun Workshop, Rocker and Boon Café who dished up their take on the classic sausage sizzle. Brews were courtesy of Moon Dog and Cow & The Moon took care of dessert with their gelato pavlovas.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *