Entries for this year’s Savour Patissier of the Year competition are now closed. After shortlisting entrants from across the globe, the finalists will travel from around the world before one is crowned the 2017 Savour Patissier of the Year.

Now in its second year, the annual Savour Patissier of the Year competition will run for the first time in Melbourne, at Foodservice Australia from 28–30 May. This year saw entries from Belgium, USA, Russia and Sweden, each travelling to Melbourne for the chance to win over $15,000 in cash and prizes, along with a trip to Hong Kong to train with Marike van Beurden at the Ravifruit Studio.

Kirsten Tibballs, owner of Savour Chocolate and Patissier School, created the competition as a platform to recognise and showcase the talent of both national and international pastry chefs.

“The standard of finalists we have for this year’s competition is outstanding,” Tibballs said. “Competitors have been personally selected based on their skills and experience, and it’s thrilling that we’ll get to see finalists from around the world in competition.”

Finalists will plate up delectable tarts, clairs, entremets and desserts for the judges, including World Pastry Cup winner, author and TV personality Christophe Michalak; winner of Best Pastry Chef in the World Jordi Roca; owner of Bachour Bakery and Bistro in Miami Antonio Bachour; and winner of the World Chocolate Masters, Paul Kennedy.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *