Coordinated by Wine Australia and supported by Australian Grape and Wine, Future Leaders is a professional and personal development program that invests in the next generation of Australia’s wine sector leaders so they are prepared for the challenges facing the sector and can be catalysts for innovative change.

Wine Australia CEO and Chair of the Future Leaders 2019 selection panel Andreas Clark said this year’s participants were selected from a highly competitive field across Australia’s grape and wine sector.

“The application process itself demonstrates the breadth and depth of innovation and talent across our grape and wine community; people who are already doing incredible work. This year’s 15 Future Leaders are indicative of the excellence that exists within our sector,” says Clark.

“The Future Leaders program will bring together these 15 emerging leaders and guide them through opportunities to develop their leadership skills and to work collaboratively towards solutions for our sector’s long-term prosperity.”

This year, the Future Leaders will be guided on a personal leadership journey and be asked to consider the opportunities and challenges facing the Australian grape and wine community.

Over six months they will explore leadership skills, hear from world class speakers and receive their input on topics such as innovation, thought leadership, culture and sector impact.

Previous Future Leaders alumni will also act as mentors throughout the program to provide their wisdom, build greater networks and support an exciting future for the Australian grape and wine community.

The Future Leaders of 2019

Andy Clarke — The Dirt Dude Ag Advisor (Bendigo)

Armando Corsi — University of South Australia, Ehrenberg-Bass Institute for Marketing Science (Adelaide)

Carrah Lymer — Emerge Creative Agency (Griffith)

Catherine Kidman — Treasury Wine Estates (Coonawarra)

Chris Thomas — Dowie Doole (McLaren Vale)

Dylan McMahon — Seville Estate (Yarra Valley)

Hayley Purbrick — Tahbilk (Nagambie)

Jessica Chrcek — Moothi Estate (Mudgee)

Kavita Faiella — Shaw and Smith (Adelaide Hills)

Keira O’Brien — Winemaking Tasmania (Hobart)

Marco Gjergja — Kooyong Wines Port Phillip Estate (Mornington Peninsula)

Mark Fogarty — Fogarty Wine Group (Western Australia)

Matthew Bahen — DeBortoli Wines (Yarra Valley and Hunter Valley)

Nadja Wallington — Philip Shaw Wines (Orange)

Tom Donegan — Voyager Estate (Margaret River).

Image credit: Terry Vlisidis 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *