Launched in March this year, the NSW Sommelier’s Wine List Awards came about with the intention of showcasing the ‘wine stars’ of the state. The awards set out to recognise sommeliers, beverage managers and venues that offer customers exceptional experiences with local wines that highlight the quality and diversity of wines being produced in the state.

The finalists for the 2021 awards were announced this week, with a diverse mix of winners that balance both urban and regional entries. This year, one of the new awards categories was accommodation, with a number of such entries making it through to the final rounds of the competition.

All finalists to have reached this stage will receive promotional material to help share their status as NSW Wine Stars, and will continue in the running for one of the main trophies and prizes.

The 2021 finalists of the NSW Sommelier’s Wine List Awards below:

  • Atelier by Sofitel, Sydney
  • Avalon Restaurant, Katoomba
  • Bangalay Dining, Shoalhaven Heads
  • Bar Florian, Sydney
  • bibo wine bar, Sydney Bills
  • Fishhouse and Bar, Port Macquarie
  • Birch Restaurant, Moss Vale
  • Birdie Noshery & Drinking Est, Orange
  • Black Bar & Grill, The Star Sydney
  • BOILERHOUSE at Q Station, Accor Sydney
  • Charred Kitchen and Bar, Orange
  • Esca, Pokolbin
  • Eschalot Restaurant, Berrima
  • EXP Restaurant, Pokolbin
  • Fix Wine Bar + Restaurant, Sydney
  • Flying Fish, The Star Sydney
  • International Convention Centre Sydney
  • Jackalberry, Hyatt Regency Sydney
  • Lolli Redini Restaurant, Orange
  • Muse Kitchen, Hunter Valley
  • Muse Kitchen, Lorn
  • Nel Restaurant, Sydney
  • O Bar and Dining, Sydney
  • One Penny Red, Sydney
  • Pilu at Freshwater, Sydney
  • Public Dining Room, Sydney
  • Quay Restaurant, Sydney
  • Redsalt Restaurant, Crown Plaza Pokolbin
  • Sean’s Bondi, Sydney
  • SOUTH on Albany, Berry
  • Tattersalls Club, Sydney
  • The Gantry, Pier One Sydney
  • The Newcastle Club, Newcastle
  • The Robertson Hotel, Robertson
  • The Throsby, Wollongong
  • The Zin House, Mudgee
  • TWR, Crown Sydney
  • Wandin Kitchen, Lovedale

The 2021 winners will be announced at an event held at Government House Sydney – hosted by Governor of New South Wales Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AC QC – on 24 May.