Entries for the 31st edition of Australia’s Wine List of the Year Awards are set to open on 1 April and close on midnight 13 May.

Operators, sommeliers, and beverage directors are invited to enter their venue’s wine list into the esteemed awards which was established by Rob Hirst OAM and his late wife Judy in 1993.

Entrants can submit their wine lists via an online portal which will be distributed via Australia’s Wine List of the Year newsletter on 1 April.

Entries will be judged by a panel of Australia and international wine specialists, including writers, master sommeliers, masters of wine, judges, and previous winners.

Entered lists will be ranked from one to three glasses, and will go in the running to win in various category awards such as best in state, type of trade, and type of wine.

One venue will be crowned as Australia’s Wine List of the Year, and the sommelier behind the list will receive the Judy Hirst award.

Last year, Sydney’s Cirrus and sommeliers Polly Mackarel and Nick Hildebrandt took out the top spot for their wine list.

“We’re delighted to be opening up entries for our 31st year of Australia’s Wine List of the Year Awards. The calibre of entries has continued to grow each year, and we are looking forward to wonderful results again in 2024,” says Hirst.

The benefits for venues to take part in this competition can be invaluable
in driving awareness and customers to your venue while also giving you tools to promote the hard work that goes into developing your beverage lists and cellars.”

To sign up for the Australia’s Wine List of the Year entry form, visit winelistoftheyear.com.au