Young Gun of Wine has announced the 12 finalists which will go on to compete for a number of awards at MONA in Hobart on 18 June.

Winemakers will battle it out for the titles of the 2018 Riedel Young Gun of Wine; Best New Act; People’s Choice and Winemaker’s Choice.

The finalists are from across Australia and include: Yoko and Andries Mostert (Brave New Wine); Gilli and Paul Lipscombe (Sailor Seeks Horse); Melanie Chester (Sutton Grange); Kate Morgan (Ipso Facto); Hamish Young (Mada Wines); Sean Crinion (Dappled Wines); Jonathan Hughes (Mewstone); Ricky Evans (Two Tonne Tasmania); Damon Koerner (Koerner Wine); David Geyer; Rob Mack (Aphelion) and Nicolas Peterkin (L.A.S Vino).

The judging panel consists of Nick Stock, Mike Bennie, Caitlyn Rees, Emma Farrelly, Michael Downer, Lisa Cardelli, Pip Anderson and Rory Kent.

In the countdown to the Final 12 trophy presentation, there will be two People’s Choice Events held at the Prince Wine Stores in both Sydney, on Thursday 14 June at 6pm, and in Melbourne on Saturday 16 June at 12pm.

The overall winners of the various trophies will be announced at The Young Gun of Wine Awards ceremony held on June 18 at MONA Gallery in Hobart.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *