The Appetite for Excellence Awards program has announced the 26 finalists across the categories of Top Young Chef, Young Waiter and Young Restaurateur.

The program is now in its 13th year, with 2018 judges including Dan Hong, Kylie Javier Ashton, Peter Gilmore, Duncan Welgemoed and Analiese Gregory.

Finalists will embark on an all-expenses paid educational food and wine tour to one of Australia’s leading food and wine regions.

The trip will offer workshops by world renowned seafood, meat, horticulture and viticulture producers as well as covering topics such as media training and mental health.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on 6 August 2018.

Finalists include:

Australian Young Waiter finalists

Olivia Evans; Paper Daisy, NSW

Jackson Wilson; Cumulus Up, VIC

Tyler Austin; Stokehouse Brisbane, QLD

Caitlin McDonald; Continental Deli, NSW

Madi Martin, Stillwater, TAS

Ellen Reinhardt; Blackbird, QLD

Nathan Smith; Queen Chow, NSW

Australian Young Restaurateur

Cam O’Keefe; Centra, VIC

Sascha Rust; Messer, VIC

David Parker; Palermo, Pastuso, San Telmo, VIC


Australian Young Chef

Rhys Connell; Sepia, NSW

Ethan Eadie; Africola, SA

Max Sharrad; Shobosho, SA

Bianca Johnston; Suzie Lucks Canteen and Cocktail Bar, TAS

Timothy West; Biota, NSW

Alex Prichard; Icebergs Dining Room and Bar, NSW

Zack Furst; Ides, VIC

Mitchell Chambers; Paper Daisy, NSW

Daniel Naylor; Aubergine, ACT

Jake Paterson; Muse Restaurant, NSW

Chris Howard; Cook and Mason, WA

Eilish Maloney; Saint Peter, NSW

Brad Cooper; Gauge, QLD

Nicolas Oprandi; Noosa Waterfront Restaurant, QLD

George Wintle; Oakridge Wines, VIC

Jordan Clay; MoVida, VIC

Benjamin Thies; Point Leo Estate, VIC

Richard Gan; Stokehouse, VIC

Brendon Walter; Stefano Lubiana Winery, TAS

Georgia Doherty; Qualia, QLD

Beth Patterson; Botanic Gardens Restaurant, SA

Samantha Butler; Oakridge, VIC

George Proudfoot; Anchovy, VIC

Jessi McEwan; Hogget Kitchen, VIC

Kyle Nicol; Ricky and Pinky, VIC

Ryan Dolan; The Chambers, QLD



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *