The regional cook-offs for Nestle’s Golden Chefs Hat Award have wrapped up for another year leaving each state with two representatives to compete in the finals next month.

The 2015 national finalists are as follows:

  • Queensland South: Ben McShane and Mitchell Tucker – Kiyomi at Jupiters Casino
  • South Australia: Jason Gliese and Cameron Tabe – The Playford Hotel
  • Victoria: Aimee Cahill and Emma Kaye – The Press Club
  • NSW: Adelene Stahnke and Mark Chew – Bang Street Food
  • Northern Territory: Ryleigh Hunt and Jenita Hunt – Berry Springs Tavern
  • Queensland North: Adam Millard – Fuel Caf and Lincoln Peagham – A Touch of Salt
  • ACT: Amanda Polsen – Hyatt Hotel Canberra and Amanda Polsen – Hyatt Hotel Canberra
  • WA: Brody Young-Steedman – Co-op Dining and Hayden Bilton – Redmanna Waterfront Restaurant
  • Tasmania: Brigid Mallett – Smolt Restaurant and Luke Roe – Guilford Young College

The finalists will now prepare for the final cook-off in front of a live audience at Fine Food Australia.

At the national cook-off challenge, finalist chefs will be tasked with creating a three-course meal in four hours which will be judged by a panel comprising internationally recognised personalites including: World Association of Chef’s Societies (WACS) judges, food industry editors, Nestl chefs and members of the Australian Culinary Federation.

All national finalists will have the opportunity to win medals for achievement in culinary excellence to nationally recognised standards in entre, main and dessert course categories.

The final will be held over two days (Sunday 20th and Monday 21st September) where particpants will compete not only for the Golden Chefs Hat title, but also for a trip to South Africa, for a once in a lifetime food safari experience.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *