Following on from its success in 2016, the Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants will return to Bangkok next year, and will be held at W Hotel on 21 February.

After three years in Singapore, the awards were held in Bangkok for the first time this year, when Gaggan retained its number one ranking.

Australia's David Thompson, who heads up Nahm in Bangkok and Long Chim in Singapore was also named the 2016 recipient of The Diners Club Lifetime Achievement Award

The 2017 program will include the #50BestTalks event, where participants will learn about local produce, take part in interactive chef demonstrations and learn about local Thai cooking techniques. Scheduled for Monday, 20 February, the one day forum will feature some of Asia’s most influential culinary leaders, including chefs from Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants list.

 William Drew, group editor of Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants, said “After the success of the 2016 event, we’re thrilled to return to Thailand for the fifth edition of Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants. Given the country’s rich culinary history, unique Thai hospitality and vibrant restaurant scene, Thailand is rightly regarded as one of the most celebrated food capitals of the world and an ideal host country for Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants.”

For the last three years, Bangkok restaurants have claimed the top spot on the list. David Thompson’s Nahm took top honours in 2014 while Gaggan Anand’s eponymous restaurant secured first place in 2015 and again last year. Along with Gaggan and Nahm, the 2016 list also featured the Bangkok-based restaurants Eat Me (number 23) and Issaya Siamese Club (number 19).

The list is created from the votes of the Asia’s 50 Best Restaurants Academy, a group of over 300 leaders in the restaurant industry across Asia. The panel is made up of food writers and critics, chefs, restaurateurs and ‘gastronomes’. Members list their choices in order of preference, based on their best restaurant experiences of the previous 18 months. There is no pre-determined check-list of criteria, but there are strict voting rules.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *