Winners revealed at 2017 NSW Wine Awards

30 October, 2017 by
Annabelle Cloros

The winners of the 2017 Pier One Sydney Harbour NSW Wine Awards were announced at Pier One Sydney Harbour on 27 October. Eighteen trophies were handed out to the state’s best wines.

“We are very proud to see the variety of winners, not just across different wineries but across the different regions of NSW,” says Tom Ward, president of the NSW Wine Industry Association.


“The NSW Wine Awards has continued to evolve into ‘the’ premium wine show for all NSW Wine wineries, truly showcasing the diversity and stunning quality of our wines.”

The NSW Governor’s Trophy for Best in Show went to Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon (Hunter Valley).


“The line-up of wines in this year’s trophy judging was fantastic and it was a tough decision, but we eventually awarded the ultimate title to the Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon from the Hunter Valley; a wine whose provenance is without question, having now amassed some 31 trophies in its wine show career,” says chair of judges Dave Brookes.

“While it may not come as a surprise that an aged Hunter Valley Semillon took out the top award, it is without doubt one of the great wine styles of Australia with an enviable track record of both deliciousness and cellaring ability.”


Full results below:

Mudgee Wines Trophy for Best Young Riesling — Robert Stein 2017 Dry Riesling (Mudgee)

Pier One Trophy for Best Young Sauvignon Blanc — Highland Heritage Estate 2016 Fume Blanc (Orange)

NSW DPI Trophy for Best Young Semillon — Bimbadgen 2017 Signature Palmers Lane Semillon (Hunter Valley)

Longfellows Midland Trophy for Best Young Chardonnay — Brokenwood 2016 Forest Edge Chardonnay (Orange)

Pier One Trophy for Best Young White Other Varieties — Hungerford Hill 2016 Pinot Gris (Tumbarumba)

National Wine & Grape Industry Centre Trophy for Best Mature Dry White — Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon (Hunter Valley)

Pier One Trophy for Best Light Red — De Iuliis Wines 2017 Special Release Grenache (Hilltops)

Orora Stelvin Trophy for Best Young Shiraz — Lerida Estate 2016 Shiraz (Canberra)

Riedel Trophy for Best Young Cabernet Sauvignon — Tamburlaine 2016 Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon (Orange)

MultiColor Trophy for Best Young Other Red Varieties — Briar Ridge 2016 Limited Release Tempranillo (Hilltops/Hunter)

Nexia Australia Trophy for Best Young Red Blend — Shaw Vineyard Estate 2015 Cabernet Sauvignon/Shiraz (Canberra)

Australia Post Trophy for Best Mature Red — Montoro wines 2013 Pepper Shiraz (Orange)

NSW DPI Award for Best Organic Wine — Tamburlaine 2016 Orange Reserve Cabernet Sauvignon (Orange)

CiSRA Canon Trophy for Best Sparkling Wine — Courabyra Wines 2013 805 Sparkling (Tumbarumba)

Pier One Trophy for Best Sweet Wine — De Bortoli Wines Noble One 2015 Semillon (Riverina)

Pier One Trophy Best Dry White of Show — Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon (Hunter Valley)

CCL Labels Trophy for Best Dry Red of Show — Lerida Estate 2016 Shiraz (Canberra)

NSW Governor’s Trophy for Best in Show — Tyrrell’s 2005 Vat 1 Semillon (Hunter Valley)