Top hotel/motel operators awarded


The top operators in the New South Wales accommodation industry were recognised at the Hotel Motel and Accommodation Association’s 2006 NSW Awards for Excellence held in Sydney over the weekend.

The awards night at the Sheraton Four Points Hotel was attended by more than 200 tourism and accommodation industry leaders.

HMAA national president Garry Crockett said the awards celebrated the achievements of the industry which provides jobs to more than 100,000 Australians nationally, and “economic benefits to every part of our state”.

“Accommodation business across NSW have worked hard and done well in occasionally difficult trading conditions recently, but it is always a pleasure to come together as an industry and publicly recognise and award the best of the best,” Crockett said.

The winners of the HMAA 2006 NSW Awards for Excellence included:

Managers of the Year—Leanne & Brian Donne, Comfort Inn The Windmill, Coffs Harbour

Apartments 4-5 Star—The Observatory Holiday Apartments, Port Macquarie

B&B 4-5 Star—Tizzana Winery Bed & Breakfast, Ebenezer

Boutique Accommodation 4-5 Star—Hermitage Lodge, Hunter Valley

Employee of the Year—Jennifer Court, Front Office, Quality Horizons Resort, Jindabyne

Hotel 3.5 Star—Potters Hotel & Brewery, Hunter Valley

Hotel 4.5 Star—The Sebel Kirkton Park, Hunter Valley

Hotel 5 Star—Novotel Northbeach, Wollongong

Motel 3 Star—Warrumbungles Mountain Motel, Coonabarabran

Motel 3.5 Star—Crystal Fountain Motel, Lavington

Motel 4 Star—Kinross Inn, Cooma

Motel 4.5 Star—Best Western Trapper’s Motor Inn, Goulburn

Redevelopment Award—Bellachara Boutique Hotel, Gerringong


Get our FREE newsletter



Hospitality on Twitter